Three South American Nations Recognize Independent Palestine

Yesterday, both Argentina and Uruguay announced that they recognized Palestine as an independent state, following Brazil’s lead, who recognized Palestine on Friday. The countries recognize Palestine as it was in 1967 , before the so-called “Six-day War” between Israel and Palestine when Israel took Gaza and the West Bank.

“The Argentine government recognizes Palestine as a free and independent state within the borders defined in 1967,” Argentine Foreign Minister Hector Timerman said, adding that this decision was made after a general agreement between the South American and Mercosur trade blocs.

Uruguay went a step forward as its Deputy Foreign Minister Roberto Conde vowed to open a diplomatic representation in Palestinians’ Ramallah region after announcing to recognize it as a state next year.

Israel has called the series of recognitions as a threat to the peace process in the region. What will be interesting to see is if other Latin American nations follow. I am specifically thinking about Chile. While Chile’s president is on the right of the political spectrum, Chile is home to 400,000 Palestinians and is often considered the largest Palestinian populations outside of Palestine.

Post to Twitter

4 comments on “Three South American Nations Recognize Independent Palestine
  1. Pingback: links for 2010-12-08 | Racialicious - the intersection of race and pop culture

  2. You know that before the six-day war there was no Palestine, right? There was Israel, Jordan and Egypt. The borders are the bits of the mandate of Palestine, which was in Arab, rather than Israeli hands at the end of the war of independence/Nakba/insert your preferred term here.

Comments are closed.